Re: Exif data: Is APE only program left to get this rite?

BL
Posted By
Barney Lerten
Sep 1, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Please see below the note I posted in another newsgroup about a program that may end up being my FORMER favorite, Paint Shop Pro. I just looked in Photoshop Elements, and lo and behold, it appears that the Exif data does NOT get saved with new versions of the same photo – and as you’ll see below, that’s the way I WANT it, cuz my files have to be REAL small!

I’ll be interested on any input – and I sure hope Adobe doesn’t "upgrade" me out of THEIR program as well! (This seems like it should become a switchable feature, re: saving/discarding Exif data on saves!;-)

Folks,

I was afraid of this – has PSP "update" taken me BACKWARDS in a key part of what I do for a living? Am I gonna be glad PSP 7 is still on my PC?;-)

I write news and take pix for a Website. I am under strict filesize limits on the pix – not just pixel-width, but maximum file size – 11.6K or so, for example, for a front-page pic at 250 pixels wide.

A few years back, PhotoImpact was my favorite program. Then I upgraded it, and taking the same size pix, same resolution, and setting compression to save around the same maximum filesize – the pix looked horrible!

I learned from a tech that the problem was that now, the "new" PI was saving Exif data WITH EVERY SAVE OF THE PHOTO, even after cropping, retouch, compression, etc. Needless to say, that was eating up my precious bytes, so compression was much worse.