DM
Posted By
Daniel Myers
Sep 10, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Elements and using a 2.66 Ghz laptop running XP Home with 512 of ram.

I opened a map gif of Glacier Bay from the web and changed it to RGB. Then added a layer. On the layer I used the brush tool to paint white over the background to show the recession of the glaciers over the past 300 years.

I had planned on doing a Save As… for each recorded date of obvservation then erase the parts of the glaciers that had receded.

When I tried to erase portions of the drawing, the eraser tool allowed me to erase just a small bit of the white, then stopped. I was unable to erase any more of the white. I even held the mouse button down thinking the redraw time was lagging behind, but that only caused the Layer palette and the Tools palette to blink out to gray then back to normal again.

What’s going on here? Am I asking it to do something it can’t? I had to work backwards from most recent history to the past by doing a Save As… and adding to the white portions. But I really would have liked just to erase away the parts of the glaciers that had melted.

Thanks,

Daniel

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

P
Phosphor
Sep 10, 2003
What was the format of the map you downloaded? I can’t tell you what’s going on or why, but I can say that I downloaded a gif of Glacier Bay, saved it as a PSD, converted it from indexed color to RGB, created a duplicate layer, and… I can’t erase any of it either. I think it has something to do with the way in which the original image was created. Either that or you and I both have broken Elements! 🙂

This is interesting. I’ll be waiting for somebody to explain this to us.
RC
Richard Coencas
Sep 10, 2003
Beth,

This has peaked my interest. Could you email me that gif? I’d like to see what is going on here.