MM
Posted By
Michael_Magnus
Nov 26, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m a portrait photographer that recently switched to digital. I’m using Photoshop Elements 2.0 to print to an Epson 9600 printer. Have tried all of the color management settings trying to find one that will print what I see in Elements. It is not a matter of montor calibration. What I see in the print preview is very close to what actually prints and is acceptable. But the print preview does not match what I see while working in Elements. Anything shot on a white background prints much darker ( it will be the correct density when viewing in Elements, but when I print, the print preview will show it much different – usually darker). When using the color management setting "PhotoEnhance4", I believe the setting is trying to optimise the image. So if shot on a white background it is trying to compensate and print the image darker. When using the color management setting "Color Controls" it prints somewhat better (not quite as dark), but when I try to adjust the print by changing the contols offered with this setting nothing changes. I subtract density using the slider control to the max (-25), but it shows no change in the print preview. Using Elements to control the density, I have to subtract 25-30 units before I see a slight change in density in the print preview, however it is completly washed out in Elements. H E L P

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

LK
Leen_Koper
Nov 26, 2003
Michael, I wished I could help you.
I’m a professional portrait photographer too and I never use the print preview; I send my images straight to my Epson 7600 and the RIP software takes care of it and it prints colour and density exactly like on my -calibrated- monitor.