JPG copies of PSD files not viewable by other viewers!

JM
Posted By
Justin_M_Lloyd
Jan 4, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a graphic designer. Frequently, when I save previews of projects for my clients and email them/upload them, they cannot see them. They show up as a broken link on the web, or the attachments won’t open through email.

When I use the Save For Web option, however, it works.

I thought this was a Mac issue, but even others with Macs cannot see the images.

Is there a way I can save these images without having to "save for web" so that others can see them?

I don’t have this problem with PSD files, GIFs or anything like that. Only when saving copies of PSD files as JPGs. I have tried not using optimization, saving lower quality copies, not embedding the color profiles, etc. Doesn’t always work.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

B
Buko
Jan 4, 2007
are they CMYK?
JM
Justin_M_Lloyd
Jan 4, 2007
No sir, they are RGB.
R
Ram
Jan 4, 2007
This may be too obvious, but are you including the ".jpg" extension at the end of the file name when doing a Save As?
JM
Justin_M_Lloyd
Jan 4, 2007
Yes, I’m incuding the ".jpg" extension.

I have tried viewing these images on another Dell in my house, and I can’t see them either.
R
Ram
Jan 4, 2007
Exactly how are you generating the JPEGs?
JM
Justin_M_Lloyd
Jan 4, 2007
I have a PSD file. I then flatten it and shrink it to 72 dpi. Then I go to save as, choose JPG from the dropdown menu, and save. Standard, usually about 10 as far as quality.
R
Ram
Jan 4, 2007
OK, then let’s go back to basics:

What exact version of Photoshop? CS2 9.0.2? What exact version of the OS? How much RAM, Photoshop RAM allowance, hard drive space, etc,

What routine maintenance do you perform on your machine? See next post.