Posted By
Mark_Ortega
Apr 28, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi everyone,

I put up an earlier post on this topic and Chuck snyder was kind enough to respond. His info headed me in the right direction. However he also mentioned adjusting resolution as well. I started playing around with the various parameters in Elements and quickly got very confused. As an experiment I printed the same photo all croped to letter size, at different resolutions. One at 25 ppi(pixels per inch), one at 300 ppi and one at 1000 ppi. The only one that printed differently was the 25 ppi print. It looked noticibly pixelated out. The other two prints, one at 300 ppi and one at 1000 ppi looked identical. The only real difference between them was the 1000 ppi took about five times longer for Elements to proccess and deliver the info. to the printer. I also had the "resampling" box in the resizing menu unchecked for this experiment. That is when I decided to get a book on Elements at the local book store. I ended up getting "the photoshop elements book" by Scott Kelby, copyright 2004. He does say that this book is a down and dirty approach to using Elements, without much theory to bog the reader down. This is great for most of the chapters such as red eye removal etc. Unfortunatly when it came to the one topic in his book that was the most important to me, resizing, croping and resolution and how they all relate for the best quality print, his approach left me with more questions than answers. He seems to suggest that to much resolution can lead to a poor print quality. In my test I saw no difference between 300 ppi and 1000 ppi. Can I assume to play it on the safe side always print at 300 ppi of resolution or higher? If anyone could explain the fundementals of this subject that would be great. I fear however it is just to complex to get into that kind of detail on this forum. Perhaps there is a book that someone could recommend on Elements that specifically deals with this issue, or maybe I