Jane Carter
Jun 13, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Last year I took these pictures with the Coolpix 990,
<http://www.pbase.com/image/22451516>
but in the instruction book for the CP 4300, it says Do not point this camera at the sun, or whatever.
And we were just out working in the yard when I noticed a really neat ice-cloud around the sun with a shimmering blob of a rainbow. By the time I got in the house, to look for the 990, it had faded.
Would I ruin the CP 4300 if I had tried to get that picture? I forgot to say that I had a polarizing lens that I held over the lens for this picture. edit again, I realized that I did take these pix with the 4300 with the polarize lens.
I guess what my real question is, can you point them at the sun without the polarize lens? I am not too good at this stuff, and dont want to do anything that would ruin it. Thanks in advance,
Jane

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

CS
Chuck_Snyder
Jun 13, 2004
Jane, I’d be a little concerned about pointing my camera directly at the sun. The lens would tend to concentrate both the light and the heat energy, sort of like a magnifying glass. Have you ever fried ants with a magnifier? Would hate to see that happen to the inside of your camera. On the other hand, if the polarizer is on and it’s not heavily zoomed in, maybe it wouldn’t be so bad. But personally, I wouldn’t risk it…just one opinion.

Chuck
JF
Jodi_Frye
Jun 13, 2004
Beautiful pic Jane. I envy your surroundings ( only in the summertime of course 😉 )
JC
Jane Carter
Jun 13, 2004
Thank you Chuck, I have a more whatever_you_would_say, a ‘thicker’ polarize lens, maybe if I used it very quickly, that it would be OK.
Never fried the ants, but did light lots of paper and cardboard, till my father caught us.