M
Posted By
mikesobay
Jan 24, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m currently considering moving from Windows to either (a)iMac 24-inch: 3.06GHz or (b) the recently be released Macbook Pro 17-inch: 2.66GHz

First, without biased marketing hoopla, would one of the foregoing MAC platforms be better for Photoshop and the Web Design Suite, all CS4 than a latest Intel i7 Windows machine?

Does the limitation to 4G in both these products mean I’ll run into problems with memory having multiple Adobe programs open simultaneously?

Thoughts about choosing between the iMac and Pro Book–if I move out of Windows? I’m not a professional–these products are ancillary to our business and used for marketing purposes.

Many thanks for your honest assessments.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

CC
Chris_Cox
Jan 24, 2009
A lot of the advice depends on how you use Photoshop: large docs or small, lots of layers or few, lots of fine retouching or global adjustments, etc.?
M
mikesobay
Jan 24, 2009
The entire array you mention. Some are used for the web, others are enlarged. The layers can be many is some cases and few in other. Some require few minor adjustments, others are highly stylized.
R
Ram
Jan 24, 2009
mikesobay,

I would strongly encourage you to spend some time working on each of those machines before making your purchase. In my personal opinion, neither the iMac nor a laptop are optimal for critical graphics work. The monitor screen in both machines is their greatest weakness, alas not the only one.
M
mikesobay
Jan 24, 2009
What objections do you have to the screens? With the laptop, I would need to purchase a separate, larger screen.

If not a Mac product, should I assume you’re recommending a PC?