ED
Posted By
eileen_dougherty
Feb 4, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Using Photoshop CS3 On IMac Intel Core Mac OS 10.4.1. Created a large format document using scanned photos and documents. I created a poster 20X40 but when attempting to export the "print" option is greyed out. Saved the document to my desktop, it is a huge file 3.4 GB. Saved it to a CD and took it to Kinkos to be printed. They say it crashed their system and they likewise cannot get it to print and cannot save it to a pdf or any other file. I am new to photoshop and my son set up the document, I just filled it in so not sure what I did wrong. Any suggestions?

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

P
Phosphor
Feb 4, 2009
Kinkos was one mistake.

🙂
ED
eileen_dougherty
Feb 4, 2009
It’s just a fun thing to hang in my office so didn’t want to spend a fortune.
NK
Neil_Keller
Feb 4, 2009
eileen,

3.4 GB sounds too large for a file that is just 20×40 (inches, I presume).

Please tell us file type, color space, resolution, if it has layers, etc., etc. Also tell us the specs that Kinkos provides for preparing art for giant prints.

Neil
P
Phosphor
Feb 4, 2009
A 20" × 40" document, even at 300ppi, shouldn’t be any bigger than about 250MB (just a guess).

I think maybe your son isn’t doing something right.
NK
Neil_Keller
Feb 4, 2009
Phos,

My thinking as well.

Neil
NK
Neil_Keller
Feb 4, 2009
Phos,

My thinking as well — 250MB-300MB. And 300 ppi may not even be necessary. 240 ppi may be more than sufficient.

Neil
ED
eileen_dougherty
Feb 4, 2009