Photoshop CS rant (was Re: Why are people upset about activation?)

A
Posted By
awilson42
Nov 28, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Activation isn’t the thing which annoys me most, oddly. I’m already used to having to activate a lot of my stuff. It’s *annoying* – but a lot of industry standard software has already required activation for a long time.

What annoys me is how often it seems to accompany programs which have had "upgrades" which are nothing less than lame. For example, Poser 5 added a lot of new security features, but it’s even slower and clunkier than its predecessor, and its "improvements" (such as the hair room) aren’t even worth upgrading, in my opinion.

The thing which makes me angriest about the new Photoshop is, in fact, the changed copyright laws – my understanding is that it is now illegal to use screenshots in personal work, or to write about Adobe products without their permission.

As a designer, I got my very best help from on-line tutorials generated by people like you and me – the fanbase of Adobe’s dedicated users. By the time the "hot tips" come out in book form from Adobe’s handpicked authors, these special effects are already "dated".

As a technical writer, one way I generated portfolio work was to write my own tutorials about my favorite products, including Photoshop.

Adobe has completely thrown a wrench in the works for me – I used to be a very dedicated "evangelist" with my own ambitions of one day writing a book about Photoshop.

But, since Adobe has cut off all but a small group of handpicked people – forget it.

This may have always been the case, but if it was previously, I wasn’t aware of it.

I’m so disillusioned now, I can’t tell you.

I have no intentions at this point of buying CS – somebody give me *one* good reason I should. I took a look at some of the new books out for CS, and I can’t find one effect that I don’t already know how to replicate in 5.5, 6, 7…