Had to re-activate PSCS

Search   Help    Register    Login   Home
Fri, 05 December 2003 17:46 Go to next message
Dan_Hogan (Photoshop begginer)
When I tried to use PS CS today I was confronted with a pop up that told me that do to changes in my system I needed to activate the program or it would stop functioning in 30 days.

It offered me a button to activate which I used and the activation processed without a hitch.

My question is why? I used the program yesterday without a problem.
I did not add or delete or change anything on my computer.
Fri, 05 December 2003 20:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Daryl_Pritchard (Photoshop expert)
Dan,

That is just the normal process. After initially installing PS CS, you can only use it for 30 days before a mandatory activation is required. Until then, activation can be performed when you desire. It sounds as though nothing wrong has really happened, but I'd have expected you to see that same prompt when you first used it yesterday.

Regards,

Daryl
Sat, 06 December 2003 01:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Lawrence_Hudetz (Photoshop expert)
He did say RE activate in the heading, Daryl.

Having a hardware watchdog is going to be a big headache, even if it only takes a moment. Those not on line with the computer will have to "phone home". Any glitch (how many times have all of us had to re-boot because something unknowable to anyone/anything but the specific computer occurred?) will throw the system into digital chaos.

I don't mind activation. I do mind the tight control over the hardware changes affecting activation. After all, it is through software only that the system "knows" there is a change. Yes there is a change, but I wonder how rules of evidence concerning re activation would look at that.

There is no way for a third party, outside the confines of the particular box, to know, unassailably, that a hardware change indeed occurred. All that is reliably known is the 1's and 0's are not lining up correctly. The system surmises the result in a logic that is at best, fuzzy. Guilty until proven innocent. But we won't bother, we will reactivate.
Sat, 06 December 2003 13:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
r_harvey (Photoshop expert)
Now, that's well written and insightful. Thank you.
Sat, 06 December 2003 15:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sy_Sez (Photoshop begginer)
Reactivation is not only prompted by hardware changes, in the manner of Windows XP; With PS CS it's required every time you use System Restore, or programs like Go Back, or utilize any back-up program such as Drive Image, Ghost, or Acronis, etc.

The first time I installed CS I thought I'd check-out the installation, and if things went OK, go to a previous Drive Image back-up, re install it, make all my preference settings, then activate it. To my surprise, even though Drive Image formats the drive, when I re installed CS I had to activate it immediately---- I didn't get one full day, never mind thirty before initial activation was required.

Since Adobe is so paranoid about losing money, and "as they say", "time is money", perhaps legitimate user's ought to launch a class-action law suit, and have it set up to where Adobe pays us $20.00, for our time each time we're required to reactivate.

Leigh
Sat, 06 December 2003 16:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
z070tso (Photoshop begginer)
Leigh,

Reading your post, I find it quite funny for a couple of reasons.

I didn't get one full day, never mind thirty before initial activation was required.

That means you had not activated at all when you were "checking out the installation". Why do you find it strange then that when you put back your image, it forces you to activate? Have you ever thought about what many would try, to restore an image let's say every 25 days to avoid activation? Guess not...

Your last message is the most courageous I have ever seen, pushing others to do the "dirty work", really amusing.

Cheers
Sat, 06 December 2003 18:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
LenHewitt (Photoshop expert)
Leigh,

>>To my surprise, even though Drive Image formats the drive, when I re
installed CS I had to activate it immediately<<

Shouldn't be any surprise. The activation data is also stored in the
registry as well as on your HDD - if the two don't match you will be
required to immediately re-activate. Restoring a previous image wiped that
data from your registry......
Sat, 06 December 2003 19:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Lawrence_Hudetz (Photoshop expert)
Thanks, r_h.

If they can keep track of presumed hardware changes, it can also keep track of the clock. It starts running the moment you install. If one makes changes within the 30 day trial, well then, it ought to be able to take that into consideration.

Adobe trials are notorious for early cutoff. Apparently, Adobe worries that, messing with your system CAN mean you messed with the clock to get around the limits, and errs on the Adobe side.

Dirty work????

I posted after you Len. I see what's happening now.
Sat, 06 December 2003 19:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
r_harvey (Photoshop expert)
Dirty work????




I don't know. Is the criminalization of legitimate users considered dirty?

It's the season to pause and be thankful for what we have.
Sat, 06 December 2003 19:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Lawrence_Hudetz (Photoshop expert)
Gratitude is a powerful feeling.
Sat, 06 December 2003 20:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
r_harvey (Photoshop expert)
...the only way to avoid having to activate immediately from what I've
seen, is to low-level format your hard drive as well as restore an image...




Or use a utility that saves the state of the "undocumented" part of your hard drive, then restores it after you go-back. The kiddies are probably doing that. They have nothing else to do; it's kind of silly to spend resources to try to outwit them.
Sat, 06 December 2003 19:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Daryl_Pritchard (Photoshop expert)
Lawrence,

Yes, I realize Dan's topic was RE-activation, but I wan't sure from his message if he'd actually activated once already or not. I'd not heard of a case of someone activating only to later receive yet another activation notice, particularly not one quoting the 30-day limit rather than a immediate activation being required. Regardless, I agree with your comments.

As for drive images and how they relate to activation, the only way to avoid having to activate immediately from what I've seen, is to low-level format your hard drive as well as restore an image that is free of PS CS having ever been installed. That way, there are no activation "checks and balances" to satisfy since it it as if PS CS never exsisted on one's system. But if one of either the hidden hard drive sector hash, the activation record in the registry, or a 3rd unidentified file are kept intact with the other(s) "cleared", then that sort of change will still trigger being required to immediately reactivate.
Sun, 07 December 2003 12:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dan_Hogan (Photoshop begginer)
Daryl

I had been using PSCS for 3 weeks without a problem. I activated it the day I loaded it. No I did not use any backup program or restore programs. The only thing that I can think of that might have effected my computer was a dip in the electric power but I am using a battery back up with a line conditioner and that should not have effected it.
I don't know why I had to re-activate but I am worried about abobe not re-activating it if it continues to be a problem. After all how many times do you expect them to re-activate the program. I would hate to use all my re-activations because of a flaw either in the program or my computer. I will not pay again if they fail to re-activate over something out of my control. I e-mailed adobe about this and have yet to receive a reply
Sun, 07 December 2003 16:20 Go to previous message
Scott_Byer (Photoshop expert)
You can re-activate any number of times. There is no limit on re-activating
using the same machine.

Apparently, that power glitch did do something to your system. Probably
stopped a buffer from being written out correctly. Time to do some
preventative maintenance - Check Disk (drive properties, Tools, Check Now)
with Fix checked.

-Scott
Create a new topic Submit Reply
Previous Topic: bug release memory
Goto Forum:

Adobe Photoshop

Adobe Photoshop techniques & help
Photoshop for Windows
Photoshop for Mac
Technical questions

Photoshop Elements

Adobe Photoshop Elements