CM
Posted By
Cory McNutt
Aug 9, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hey folks…what are your opinions on the best photo printer…that is also fairly affordable (meaning under $1000…preferable way under)? I’ve heard some good things about the Olympus P-400…dye, rather than wet ink. What do you all think? I want to print up to the 8×10. Thanks, Cory

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JF
Jodi Frye
Aug 9, 2003
Do yourself a favor and look into the EPSON Photo Printers. Totally affordable, totally superior.. imo
JF
Jodi Frye
Aug 9, 2003
Check < http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/ProductCategory.jsp?BV_Us eBVCookie=yes&oid=-8165> out the Stylus photo series printers on this page.

I know you asked about dye but look anyways.
LK
Leen Koper
Aug 9, 2003
As a pro photographer I need the best inkjet I can afford. At the moment I use an Epson 2100 (2200 in the USA). Well under 1000 euro, so I suppose it will be under $1000 in the USA.
This printer has really convinced me about the quality of inkjet printers; within a few days I’ll order its "Big Brother", the 7600. And believe me, I’m rather critical.

Leen
P
Phosphor
Aug 10, 2003
If you shop around, Cory, you should be able to find the 2200 for $499 or less, if that one interests you.
CS
Chuck Snyder
Aug 10, 2003
Barbara, I’m really surprised at that price – has Epson started to discount it? They’re generally very insistent with their retailers regarding minimum pricing…

Chuck
CS
Chuck Snyder
Aug 10, 2003
Barbara: I double-checked with price.com, which lists over 20 sellers of the 2200: lowest price is $569 and that’s at one of the more poorly rated e-tailers… Generally, a price floor of around $625 seems to prevail. Am I missing a real bargain somewhere??

Chuck
JF
Jodi Frye
Aug 10, 2003