JH
Posted By
Joe_Henry1000
Nov 28, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Ok, I think it’s time for me to get a real tripod. I came to this conclusion after substituting a stacks of books precariously piled on a chair for a tripod, while trying to get "the perfect" shot for my photo challenge entry. My new $500 Kodak almost hit the floor more than once! So, I need your input. Understand that I’m not a pro photographer so I don’t need, nor could I justify a really expensive one. Heck, I’m not even a rank amateur. My wife is asking me for Christmas list options so I better get on it.

What can you get for under $100? How about for less than $75? Which tripod should I put on my Christmas list?

Thanks,

Joe

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

I
imacgirl
Nov 28, 2003
Joe,

I was doing the book thing too last night. 😉 I have an old Velbon VGB-3 tripod which is really sturdy, here’s <http://www.velbon.com.au> a link to their site, still in business! The reason why I got the books out, was I had my subject placed on the floor and lit. Couldn’t get the tripod low enough to shoot, I’m thinking of getting a mini-tripod too for situations like this.

Barb
CS
Chuck_Snyder
Nov 28, 2003
Joe, I’m thumbing through the B&H catalog (paper version) and seeing lots of apparently decent tripods in the price range you cited. One that looks particularly good to me is the Slik Pro 330DX with 3-way pan head for $89.95. You might want to check out the B&H website for browsing, and also the Eagle Optics site.

Chuck
JH
Joe_Henry1000
Nov 28, 2003
Barb,

‘m thinking of getting a mini-tripod too for situations like this.

I picked up a Canon mini tripod for $2 from Amazon about a year ago. It’s very handy and collapses down so that it fits into my camera case.