TV
Posted By
T_Venet
Dec 7, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
According to US Dept of State passport renewal form DS-82, one needs submit two recent identical photos with light plain background. The schematic on the form shows what’s wanted is apparently a 2" x 2" square photo. I broke out my Digital camera and took a photo of the person renewing their passport, uploaded it to Adobe PhotoShop Album (because for some reason I’ve yet to fathom I can’t seem to directly upload it to Elements 2.0) and then elected to fix the image in Elements 2.0. When I told Elements 2.0 I wanted to print the image, I indicated I’d be interested in the 20 2" x 2" sheet. I am surprised to learn the images are not actually as advertised, i.e. they are exactly 2" across but approx 1.75" tall. I really don’t need twenty of these; just two with the dimensions that State Dept is asking for on its renewal form. Is there some way that I can get past this!?

BTW — I’m really new at all this.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

CS
Chuck_Snyder
Dec 8, 2003
TV: I was going to suggest that it must be a great picture if you wanted 20 of them, but…I’ll stop being flippant and see if I can help.

When you open the picture in Elements, you need to go into Image>Resize>Image Size and check the pixel dimensions; the width and length need to be equal to create a 2 inch by 2 inch picture. Probably the easiest way to do that is:

1. Pick the Crop tool from the toolbox and set the dimensions to 2 inches by 2 inches at a resolution of 250 ppi.
2. Click on your picture and drag out a cropping box to include as much of the picture as you want; it’ll be square, because you set 2 by 2 in the width and height.