PK
Posted By
Paul_Kaye
Feb 6, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have some jpeg files of around 75k, but when I open them and try to "save for web" the preview pane indicates that they are 950k in size. I have no idea why this happens. I’m new to Elements and to web graphics generally. Are the files at 75k somehow compressed on the hard drive, only to expand when I need to open them? If I put these files on a website as they are, would they download as the larger size (and hence take a lot longer)? Or is there an error somewhere in Elements?

Many thanks in advance.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

BB
brent_bertram
Feb 6, 2004
Paul,
It sounds like you’ve about answered your own question. I suspect you’re using heavily compressed jpg images which would typically be much larger if they were not compressed. Once the image is in memory, it will be "full sized" based upon its pixel dimensions ( 3 bytes for every RGB pixel ) . Saving them with "Save for Web" could easily result in a larger file on the hard drive if the compression ration was smaller than the original compression ratio.
A 75k file on the website downloads like any 75k file does. It only gets "decompressed" into a larger sized real image once it’s decompressed on the end user computer , by whatever viewer is in use.

Clear as mud ?

🙂

Brent
LG
Lorace_Graham
Feb 7, 2004
Wow! I’ve never had that problem, Paul, so I don’t know what’s happening.

I just know that you can choose what percentage-size you want your picture to be, if you’re using the IE Explorer preview. At that rate you’d probably have to bring them down to around a 10% size.

I just had a thought, though. Are you working on them As JPG’s, or do you save them first as PSD’s and save to the web from there? That’s generally what I do. You can resize the picture safely when in the PSD mode (no lossy) by choosing the Image/resize.