WC
Posted By
Wayne_Coey
Feb 28, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m a newbie to digital photography. Any advice on how to simulate an 812 warming filter?

Thank You,

Wayne

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

LK
Leen_Koper
Feb 28, 2004
Wayne, what is an 812 filter? Could you provide a link?

Leen
R
RobertHJones
Feb 28, 2004
Leen,

The 812 is a warming filter manufactured by Tiffen. It’s slightly warmer than the skylight 1-A filter and used for much the same purpose.

Bob

edit: I just decided to do a web search and found this page that describes it fairly well: http://www.2filter.com/faq/warmfil.html

See the 3rd paragraph.
MD
maryann_dolbeare
Feb 28, 2004
Wayne
If you are near a Barnes and Noble check and see if they have Jan. issue of Digital Camera World from the UK. They have 2 free Nik Color Efex Filters, Skylight Filter and Brilliance and Warmth. Both seem great. Make sure it’s the CD software the DVD is different.
My B&N still has a few issues left, I’m waiting for the Feb issue with the Buzz filter. The Jan issue also has the Dreamy Filter but I think that is still free online.

Maryann
PA
Patti_Anderson
Feb 28, 2004
Wouldn’t a Gradient Map adjustment layer work well for this filter effect? Here is an before/after example of a photo of a tangerine tree on which I used a salmon pink to white gradient. First, I created a Gradient Map adjustment layer and then chose the Salmon Pink to white gradient (in a group of gradients called Simple). I used the Soft Light blending mode and lowered the opacity to about 80%.

<http://www.pbase.com/image/26452900>