DR
Posted By
Don_Reitz
Mar 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
A traditional film photographer, I’ve now jumped into digital photography with both feet. Because it’s oriented toward photographers, I originally wanted Digital Light & Color’s Picture Window, but it’s for PCs only and I won’t give up my Mac. Perusing this forum convinced me that Elements is the way to go.

As a photographer, my interest in digital manipulation is pretty much limited to the digital equivalents of darkroom procedures. Creating shapes and text, applying creative filters and the like are not particularly useful in my case.

I don’t imagine my situation is unique. Can someone point me toward books, tutorials, Web sites, or forums that devote themselves to digital photographic methods in general, and Elements in particular?

Thanks for any help that can be offered.
Don

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

GD
Grant_Dixon
Mar 1, 2004
Don

I too am a traditional film photographer first.

Now for books on photography and Elements a good start is "The Photoshop Element Book for Digital Photographers" by Scott Kelby. There is also a new book out "The Digital Photographers Guide to Photoshop Elements" by Barry Beckham, although I can’t comment on it as I haven’t used it yet. Once you have reached an understanding of Elements there is "Photoshop Restoration and Retouching" by Katrin Eistmann, while this book is directed towards Elements big brother there is lots that can be gleamed if you understand Elements. For a general introduction to Elements you may want to take a trip over to Bob Warren’s web site
http://www.rewarren.com/challenge/books.htm

The best place for help about Elements is right here. This forum is populated with artist, photographers and Element users, both expert and not so expert, that are more than willing to share their talents.

Grant
R
RobertHJones
Mar 1, 2004