How do I create a business card with my own photo as the background?

D
Posted By
Demille
May 15, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am using Adobe Photoshop CS version 8.0, and I’m trying to create my very first first business card. I am trying to use the photo of a flower that I took as the background, and me being a newbie I am wanting to make sure I have good instructions for doing it right the first time. I read something about making sure it (the photo) is transposed, and I have no clue what that means. Does anyone know of any good tutorials that specifically help you with creating a business card USING your own photo? Thanks in advance for your help.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

WE
Wolf_Eilers
May 15, 2007
Spend a few minutes with Google and search "business card tutorial".

I believe, the "transposed" should really be "transparent". You want the flower photo to fade into the background. And you do that by placing the photo into a separate layer and lowering the opacity of the layer. Text and other shapes or photos should be placed on their own layers to allow for changes to the card and other creative effects.

You really want to create a business card template so you can easily add different pictures and text.
D
DeerRaven
May 15, 2007
Yes, there are plenty of templates in Illustrator (I’m just starting to use them myself.) For print with text you’ll want a vector program ideally.
B
Buko
May 15, 2007
you’ll want a vector program ideally.

Ideally you want a page layout app like Indesign.
D
Demille
May 15, 2007
But it is possible to do what I am trying to do using Photoshop CS right? I only ask because I have heard that Photoshop CS is pretty advanced and if you know how to manipulate it correctly, you can make pretty much anything.
JJ
John Joslin
May 15, 2007
Yes, if that’s all you have.
B
Buko
May 15, 2007
save as PDF to keep type vector
D
Demille