Posted By
StuTheDog
Jul 8, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all, newbie here.

I have several images for a website that need to be reduced in size. Each has an area, shape if you will, that I would like to be the same dimension in all the final reductions. For example Image A is 1400 x 800 pixels, the area I want as the standard size is located at coord’s 400, 130 and measures 459 x 265. When the entire image is reduced this area should measure 130 x 75. I don’t care what the overall image dimensions are after reduction, just the area in question.

The next image measures 1240 x 930, the area I want made standard is at coord’s 822, 50 and measures 418 x 136. After reducing the image I would like this area’s new size to also be 130 x 75 or reasonably close.

Photoshop is so feature rich I suspect there is a technique to do this without trial and error. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance, Steve

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

BA
Bob Allison
Jul 9, 2006
In article <LNCrg.4557$>,
"StuTheDog" wrote:

For example Image A is 1400 x 800 pixels, the
area I want as the standard size is located at coord’s 400, 130 and measures 459 x 265. When the entire image is reduced this area should measure 130 x 75. I don’t care what the overall image dimensions are after reduction, just the area in question.

The next image measures 1240 x 930, the area I want made standard is at coord’s 822, 50 and measures 418 x 136. After reducing the image I would like this area’s new size to also be 130 x 75 or reasonably close.

You are talking about cropping your image. The sizes you give will not yeild an image the size you want without a lot of distortion.

418×136 can be either 231×75 or 130×42, but not 130×75 without a lot of distortion.