PS
Posted By
Phil_Schirmer
Mar 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I tagged this question onto another thread and didn’t get any responses there so I’ll try again. When I work with large text over an image (I’m a book designer) the text is fussy to work with. If I move it, pieces of the letters get left behind. Or if I highlight a letter and change it nothing happens until I zoom in or out. I’ve had this problem in Quark in the past and was told it was a memory problem? I’m using a G5 with 1.2 gigs RAM so it CAN’T be a memory problem… Any suggestions?
Thanks, Phil

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

DK
Doug_Katz
Mar 1, 2004
Two questions, Phil:

1. Does the text redraw properly when you refresh the screen?

2. At what magnification does this happen?
NK
Neil_Keller
Mar 1, 2004
Is your type left as vector type, or has it been converted to pixels? If the former, is it just one font (if so, I would think a corrupted font which should be replaced), or any? Is this just a screen anomaly (if so, I would think it’s your video card), or does it print the same as what you see?

Neil
PS
Phil_Schirmer
Mar 1, 2004
Well, I just tried again and it does seem to work OK at 100%. Hmmm… if this means that I can’t work with type at a reduced viewing size that’s a problem. Never had any difficulties in earlier Photoshops.

Yes, Doug, it does redraw correctly when I refresh the screen. I just have to refresh the screen every time I make any changes to the type (i.e. larger, smaller, or moving it, which I’m constantly doing as a designer).

Neil – I’ve just upgraded to CS. I wasn’t even aware the text is temporarily in vector. I just assumed it was pixels. (I just click on the T tool and start typing). I guess I’ll have to do some more learning…

Thanks for your replies. For now, I’ll work at 100%.
DK