FH
Posted By
Frank_Heller
May 12, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
About a year and a half ago, I wrote about a bug describing how PS 7.0 mis-handles the bevel effects on the top and leftmost edges of arrayed objects within a layer.

There was a lot of "not on my machine" responses. Well..eventually someone on the PS team was able to duplicate it…and I think that’s only because she knew what to look for. Since then, I have been able to duplicate this bug on every machine I own. That would be two Beige G3’s Two Dual 500 G4’s, a Ti PB and a brand new G5….running either OS 9.2.2, 10.2.8 0r 10.3.3.

Sadly, this bug was not addressed in the 7.0.1 update. While some of you may find this bug trivial….I find it to be a show stopper for the kind of work I do for a living. I design the GUI’s for a major international audio equipment manufacturer. A great deal of audio mixer interfaces are composed of redundant arrays of faders, knobs, buttons…etc. This means any repeating object that uses (for example) an outer bevel of 5 pixels, will always display 4 pixels on the top and leftmost edges while all others display 5.

So I have been relegated to using PS 6 all this time…simply because it handles the effects correctly.

I have put off upgrading to CS because I simply haven’t had the time. What I’d like to know is if the problem still exists in CS? If anyone would like to see an example of the problem, I’d be happy to send you a file of a screen shot CLEARLY pointing out the problem and the settings of the bevel effect.

Please…no "have you (fill in the blank)" responses. It is not the fault of any of my machines or installations. It is confirmed PS bug.

I simply want to know if should bother upgrading or not.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

B
Buko
May 12, 2004
P
Phosphor
May 12, 2004
I remember when you first posted this, but I didn’t bother trying it then.