Posted By
Rusty_K
Nov 28, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,

I’m just getting started with learning layers and producing animated gifs such as buttons. I can preview my animated gif but the button won’t act the way I want it to. I want the look of a button with the text changing. So far my preview is just switching between the various layers with the "button" image in only one sequence. Am I making sense?

I know I could just place my animated text over another button image on my webpage but I’m stubborn and want the button animation to work properly.

Also another related question….Is there any reason why I could’t create my entire webpage in Photoshop, save it as an jpg. and just use "hotspots"
for all my hyperlinks? Seems this would save download time…right?

Thank you,
Rusty K

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

I
imacgirl
Nov 29, 2003
Rusty,

You have to duplicate the button for as many text layers that you have or the button will only show once. For each button sequence do the following:

1) Duplicate the buttons as many times as you have text.

2) Place the various text layers above each button layer you’ve duplicated.

3) Turn off all the eyeballs in the palette. Now turn on each text/button layer, two at a time and go to Layer>Merge Visible. Do this for each text/button sequence. The buttons should then appear with the text in each frame and not only one. Your layers palette will now have a bunch of buttons, each with their own text. Re-arrange them if you need to in the palette and preview it.

Hope this helps, come back if it doesn’t. I’ll be happy to try to explain it better if need be.

Barb
BB
Barbara_Brundage
Nov 29, 2003
Rusty, do you mean you want an animated gif shaped like a button or that you want a rollover?
RK
Rusty_K
Nov 29, 2003
Thank you so much for your response.