Posted By
Ben Littlechild
Nov 2, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,
Im new to photo manipulation and photoshop elements, and dont have a clue about layers and masks, but i have a question for those of you out there with wisdom on these matters!
I have an image of a celebrity lady that is wearing a red dress, what i woud like to do is replace all the colours in the image with black and white except the dress, very similar to the effect in the movie "schindlers list". Can anyone out there give me a step by step guide on this?

Thanks for your help

Ben

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

M
Mr3
Nov 2, 2003
Not too fancy but dead simple:
These instructions are for Photoshop, I hope you can make sense of this in Elements.

With appropriate Selection tools, select the area that you want to remain in color.
Anti-alias checkbox = yes
Feather = 3-6 pixels, you will have to experiment.
These two settings determine the smoothness of the blend between color and B and W.
Selection/Inverse
This flips the selection area from the color area to the B and W area.

Image/Adjust/Hue-Saturation; Move the saturation slider to Minus 100

Accept

Done

HTH

"Ben Littlechild" wrote in message
Hi,
Im new to photo manipulation and photoshop elements, and dont have a clue about layers and masks, but i have a question for those of you out there with wisdom on these matters!
I have an image of a celebrity lady that is wearing a red dress, what i woud like to do is replace all the colours in the image with black and white except the dress, very similar to the effect in the movie "schindlers list". Can anyone out there give me a step by step guide on this?

Thanks for your help

Ben
BL
Ben Littlechild
Nov 2, 2003
thanks i’ll give it a go

Mr3 wrote:
Not too fancy but dead simple:
These instructions are for Photoshop, I hope you can make sense of this in Elements.