Text made as jpeg or giff ends up too choppy (Help!)

GM
Posted By
Gregg_Murray
Nov 8, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I want to make some jpeg images out of text (I’m very new at this!!!). When I insert it onto my page, all the letters are a little rough and not nice and clean like normal.

See my attempts here…
<http://www.radioarchitect.com/index.html>

Please tell me how to make this stop.

Thanks,
Gregory

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

KW
Kyle_White
Nov 8, 2003
Hi Gregg!

In a word: resolution

If you’re going to save text as an image, then the original should have lots of pixels and large text. You can then reduce the size of the image to fit your needs using the "Save for Web…" in PE2.

I’ve set up some examples at:

<http://www.pbase.com/kylemw/general_stuff>

As you can see, I didn’t have much success using "Save for Web…" as a GIF image, edges of characters were not clean. I was using GIF in order to save with a transparent background.

Hmmm, going to have to kick this around some more.

HTH
Kyle
EW
Ed_Wurster
Nov 8, 2003
wrote in message…
I want to make some jpeg images out of text (I’m very new at this!!!).
When I insert it onto my page, all the letters are a little rough and not nice and clean like normal.

When you make text, make sure the text is anti-aliased. There is a button that turns this on. It is in the text toolbar, to the right of the font size.

Ed
JF
Jodi_Frye
Nov 8, 2003
Kyle, when saving as jpeg the quality is always better than the gif. My trick is to create a background under my text that is the same as the background on my webpage and then I can save it as jpeg without having the trouble of needing it transparent.
KW
Kyle_White
Nov 8, 2003
Hi Jodi! And Thanks!