J
Posted By
josh
Aug 19, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Sorry, I’m a bit new to this … I have this picture of a book – I need to cut out the background, so the books that are taken without depth and are more or less rectangles, I use the rectangle select tool, but this book looks more like a trapezoid or a rhombus because of the angle and depth the picture was taken at … I hope that makes sense

any and all suggestions would be super appreciated

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

RM
Rick_McCleary
Aug 19, 2004
The question you’re asking is about making the most basic selection. What you’re trying to do can be accomplished many ways – pen tool/path, polygon lasso tool, magic wand on background, calculations + channel selection, layer mask, etc, etc, etc.

But before you can do any of those things, you need to gain some fundamental knowledge about Photoshop. And before anyone here can answer your question, you need to have that knowledge.

There are many tutorials on-line, but the best way to start would be to pick up a copy of Classroom-In-A-Book for Photoshop. It is published by Adobe and is available in most bookstores. It will guide you through the things you need to know to start using the program.

When you have difficulties, please come back here and ask. Some of the folks who answer questions might seem intimidating, but they’re all good at heart. (Right, folks?) Don’t be scared off.

Good luck.
KN
Ken_Nielsen
Aug 19, 2004
Learn to use the pen tool. It’s a valuable skill for those who work with Photoshop.

Go to online tutorials and be patient, it takes some practice, but well worth the investment in time.
AS
Ann_Shelbourne
Aug 19, 2004
Joshua:

You might want to experiment with the Crop tool and Perspective if you would like your book to be a true rectangle rather than a trapezium.
L