BL
Posted By
Brett_Laker
Mar 4, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Digital Imaging but will be scanning medium format black and white negative material to the drive. My requirements are I guess fairly simple as far as any manipulation is required, as follows: moderate tonal correction, moderate contrast correction, some simple perspective correction(the usual corrections that can be made in a traditional darkroom). I will then want to output using quadtone process to art papers. I use a mac running OSX.

Can I get by with Photoshop Elements or do I need to go the whole hog? (Please excuse my basic questions, but as I said, I am new to digital imaging.)

Thank you very much for any help or ideas that you may be able to offer me.

Best regards

Brett Laker

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

PR
Paul Riemerman
Mar 4, 2004
I used to do quite a bit of traditional darkroom work, and I never learned of a way to do any perspective correction except with a tilt and shift lens on the original camera. I have PS 5.0 LE, but haven’t found any perspective correction features in it. Anybody feel free to correct me if I’ve missed them.

Paul Riemerman

wrote in message
I am new to Digital Imaging but will be scanning medium format black and white negative material to the drive. My requirements are I guess fairly simple as far as any manipulation is required, as follows: moderate tonal correction, moderate contrast correction, some simple perspective correction(the usual corrections that can be made in a traditional darkroom). I will then want to output using quadtone process to art papers. I use a mac running OSX.

Can I get by with Photoshop Elements or do I need to go the whole hog? (Please excuse my basic questions, but as I said, I am new to digital imaging.)

Thank you very much for any help or ideas that you may be able to offer me.

Best regards

Brett Laker
LK
Leen_Koper