JM
Posted By
James_Mullins
Jun 7, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello everyone. I am relatively new to PE2. I think its a pretty cool program but alot harder to use than my previous software. However, I need help in printing 2 – 5 X 7 prints using the Picture Package feature. After printing 100 sheets of pictures taken at a friends’ wedding, I found that it was very difficult to put them into 2 wedding albums for prints 5 X 7. After spending more hours getting some of them to fix in, I measured the prints and they were 5 X 6 3/8 and not 5 X 7. Since, I could not find an answer to the problem either in the manual and other reference sources, I decided to simply print each picture on a single sheet. However, when I printed the second picture, I noticed that in print review that after I put in 5 for height and then put in the 7 for width, the number for height changed to 5.25. I checked the first print and it was indeed 5.25 X 7.

Please explain both how to get 5 X 7s to print correctly both using Picture Package and without. Many Many thanks for any help I can get. I am over a month late in getting the prints to the bride and groom. If no one can help, my other alternative is to cough up the $39 bucks and call Adobe.

James M

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

BG
Byron Gale
Jun 7, 2004
James,

The phenomenon you are seeing is caused by a difference between the aspect ratio of your original image and the 5×7 output size.

Most digicams use an aspect ratio of 4:3. A 5×7 image’s aspect ratio is ~4:2.28.

When you resize your image the way you describe, Elements will preserve the aspect ratio for you by either shortening the long dimension, or lengthening the short dimension, when you specify either one or the other.

If this didn’t happen, then your image would be distorted to fit the new aspect ratio, and things would look stretched or squashed.